Old Flying Farts Bicycling Club
 

Marshfield, MO to Salem, MO

One thing that Don and I have learned over the past twentysomething days is that the maps of the route we are supposed to take, have not been updated in quite a few years from the original 1976 'BikeCentennial" route.  The problem with this is the roads have not always been kept up (some are gravel now) or newer roads have been made that make a more direct route between cities.  Today, we left the map and made up our own route to Salem, MO.  I believe this route was much nicer (roads) than what we were supposed to be on and we still had to do over 100 miles to get to our destination.  I guess it comes down to personal preference, but the hills were still challenging.

We again battled with the heat today but it was only 97 degrees, so I did not sweat as much (i.e. please read sarcasm into the last statement).  It seems that we are out of the plains and into the hills and trees which is a nice change from the desolate landscape called Kansas.   Today, I was strictly business in getting the ride done and rode alone the whole ride.  It was one of those days that I knew I had to ride the 100 miles, but my legs were tired and I missed my kids dearly.  Hearing them on the phone last night was nice but it made me homesick! 

Doing laundry as I write this -- have to do it every four/five days b




Leave a Reply.